Random International – The Rain Room

What I have failed to realize about my photographic installation is that it has always been controlled by the viewer(s). Without them, it does not function or has any purpose. There will be no photograph unless someone ventures inside. The viewer is in control. So I changed the kind of installations/contemporary art that I was researching into before. I stumbled across a video of an installation on youtube that is another that has to be interacted with by the viewer. Florian Ortkrass and Stuart Wood from Random International talk about how it is to be experienced. It won’t work if it isn’t. This installation holds an element of surprise, you are walking through rain, but you don’t get wet. It’s almost as though you are a magnetic field repelling the water away from you.

Screen Shot 2017-07-14 at 01.58.22.png

Leave a comment